the path… {year of the gypsy part 2}

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not unto your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge Him, and He will direct your path.   Proverbs 3:5-6

i had coffee with my sweet friend tracy last week & we had a conversation about following your path. i shared  something with her that i hadn’t really shared with anyone yet but i wasn’t really sure why i hadn’t…

about a month ago i was in the process of trying to make a few decisions about what direction i would like to go in, not only with life, but with my photography. if you have followed me for any time at all, well then you know that i tend to get a little “distracted….”

i like to call it “self discovery.” 

self–dis·cov·ery : the act or process of achieving self-knowledge

amy’s definition: trying to figure out what the heck i want to do that makes me happy because i feel like a need more of a direction or purpose…

anyway… a few weeks ago i was thinking about branching out and doing a little more commercial& freelance work.  unknowing and unsure of exactly how i was going to achieve this. i think at that time i did a little blog post about “putting myself out there“… then headed to bed.

that night i closed my eyes very tight and prayed….

“Dear Lord please give me direction, i am thankful in the craft that you have instilled in me and i pray for guidance in how to use it…”

two days later, i had received a phone call to a commercial shoot with Magnolia Pearl.

my discovery: GOD is GREAT,

you never know what HE has instore for you,

try something new,

 or get a little distracted, because who knows it might just lead you down another path…

xoxxxo,

amy

p.s. i decided to call this the year of the gypsy… thought it might be better than referring to myself as an ox…

*** all photos were taken at  ft. worth botanic gardens

This entry was posted in About Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the path… {year of the gypsy part 2}

  1. Tracy Smith says:

    Amy – I hope I get to spend some of the year of the gypsy with you! (I’m not so fond of oxes, but gypsies I can handle!). I’m so glad we got to have our little conversation over coffee (and free Chai Tea)! I’m excited to see what comes your way and to watch you trusting God every step of the way. You’re refreshing and fun and . . . well, gypsy-ish. And a natural behind the camera. I always love seeing your new pictures. (The school girl picture a couple posts back was so adorable! I totally see your face in that little girl!)
    Enjoy the anticipation of Christmas. He is Worthy!

  2. Amy you photos are stunning!
    Theresa
    aka:tot

  3. aLi says:

    lOvE your post Amy!!!! Love your journey! You are amazing and God definitely has huge plans for you girl!!! Blessed to have your friendship 🙂 XoXo

  4. You know it takes someone really talented to capture the spirit behind the pictures and I’ve always known just how super talented you are my friend. So glad God is opening doors for you, so well deserved!! Early Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  5. Hi Amy, thanks so much for taking the time to leave that wonderful bit of camera wisdom on my post. I’ve heard so much about you, and now I get to find you! Your photos are amazing, and now I’m learning that’s because there is an amazing woman behind the photographs! I had never really been interested in photography until I started blogging, and now a whole new world of expression and creativity has opened itself up to me. Even though I’m not looking to head into anywhere near “professional” places I DO want to have a more inspiring and creative outlet with my blogging and self expression.
    Prayer is such a gift we have…to be able to communicate with God, and then see Him lead, guide, and direct our daily lives. I’m putting your blog on my sidebar so I can keep up with what you’re doing.
    hugs and blessings,
    Debra

  6. Janet says:

    wow! i love this post! congrats on your big photo shoot! i have no doubt it will be an amazing experience! i have a lot of those “self-discovery” moments…still struggling with what i want to be when i grow up!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Just found your wonderful blog today. I love this post! HE is great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

