how does you garden grow?

[mommy+415.JPG]

We planted our first garden when we moved into this house in the spring of 2008. Incidentally that is about the time that I had started blogging. Back then I blogged as 3cheers4mom.  My garden post was my second post ever, and I wanted to repost it here on this blog so that I could kind of keep track of all of my garden information together…

Saturday, June 7, 2008

How does your garden grow….
In March we took a family trip to the garden center, to look at some trees that I was interested in planting in the front yard. When I was finished looking at the prices of the trees, my husband said that he wanted to look at a few things, so I took the little ones to look at flowers and he wandered around. A few minutes later he emerged from the greenery with two plants in hand. One plant was a blue grapevine; the other was a black berry vine. “I want to plant these in the garden” he told me. Now, we have lived in our house for about a year now and I think that we are just now getting settled. The previous owners must have had a wonderful garden, at one time. It is an enclosed structure that would make Martha Stewart proud, but now had become overgrow and out of control with the past year of neglect. But, he was bound and determined that he would have a bountiful crop of grapes and black berries.

So now we venture home with vines in hand and he and the girls spend the whole day working on our garden. Mason and I supervised and then took a nap. Supervising is very hard work you know.
The garden was cleaned out in a day and he planted his vines in the perfect spot. I then decided that the area is so large that we need to plant other things. So the next day, Mason and I head to Wal-Mart. They actually have a good little garden center, and I really didn’t want to spend a lot of money on plants that I would probably kill.
In the span of two weeks I had planted corn, squash, tomatoes, cantaloupe, and okra. Without any prep what so ever, I just put them in the ground and added a little mulch, and said a little prayer and watered the garden.
To my surprise we go out there every day to watch out little sprouts turn into little plants. Then to watch the beautiful flowers turn in to something that you can eat. As soon as McKenzie gets off the bus she runs to see what new things have grown that day. It has become a wonderful family project.
Now, what to do with the fruits of our labor????

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to how does you garden grow?

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love that you reposted this! Isn’t it funny how the kids take to small gardening? They are so facinated with its growth and change. We have seriously had gardens on our minds around here. I don’t think spring can come quickly enough!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Nezzy says:

    Oh this make me sooo homesick for spring! Quite the precious little gardener ya’ll have there. Your picture is just too sweet!

    Have a fun day and a wonderfully blessed weekend!!!

  3. Congrats on your improved blog name! 🙂

    Hee hee.

    I can’t even go back and read my old blog posts. I cringe. I switched platforms and the person helping me was all, “Um, I’m having a hard time moving your old posts.” I got all happy and thought they were gone forever. But no. She figured it out. Boo.

  4. Wendy says:

    Make PIE!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

