Mr. Grote

originally written Aug. 10, 09

 

I had to run my oldest daughter to Mason on Friday, to meet her father. He called to say that he was running a little late, so I popped in a little store that I like to wonder around in from time to time.
I have been on a search for old hymnals and old Bibles for a while now. ( Before I get e-mails about using bibles, I only like to use old bibles that are ripped and falling apart. I feel like by recycling them this way, you are still spreading the word.)
Anyway, I came across a large selection of Hymnals and an old Bible. I gathered them all up and walked to the counter.
“What have you got there?” Mr. Grote (owner) asked me.
“Well, I told him… I was wondering if you would give me a deal.”
Mr. Grote took my stack and then asked me what in the world I was going to do with these old things.
“Well… I am going to make banners.” I then explained that some said blessed, believe, etc.
Then I asked, so what “do I owe you?”
His reply, “Just a banner.” All he wanted was a banner to give to his pastor.
What a sweet man.
So, I thought I would share the banners with you. This is my first try.
 
 
 

And if your ever in Mason, Texas (about 45 minutes North of Fredericksburg) be sure to stop by and say hello to Oliver Grote @ Mason Country Collectables

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mr. Grote

  1. Nezzy says:

    Simply beautiful!

    You have yourself one terrifically blessed day!!!

  2. Very inspirational. I may try my hand at something similar!

Leave a Reply

