The Farmers Market

The Pearl Brewing Company was established in 1883, and is part of the revitalization of Downtown San Antonio.  The new developers are transforming the old brewery in to “an iconic culinary and cultural gathering place where you can eat, live, learn, work and play on the Museum Reach of the San Antonio River.”

So, I decided that I must check it out:

The Farmers Market is open from 9-1 every Saturday (come rain or shine), so I took my husband a cup of coffee, kissed him good-bye, and headed out the door.

DSC01929

DSC01965

  Since I got there right at nine, I was able to get a few good shots in before it got too crowded.

 DSC01904

There was a large selection of beautiful fresh vegetables and flowers

DSC01859

DSC01851

Burgundy okra?  Hard you ever heard of such a thing? The grower told me that it great to cook with because it doesn’t get “as Slimy” as regular okra

DSC01843

DSC01823

  Artisanal Cheese from Humble House Foods (YUM!!!)

 DSC01821

Texas Honey

DSC01814

Another Texas Honey with Pecans: Ocher Pecan Company

DSC01806

Now this is Sam: That Sam I am, That Sam I am, I love his Jam. Now, this is not your Grandmothers Jam, there is stuff like Very Berry Amaretto, and Spiced Peach Butter. I could eat it by the spoonful.

DSC01812

I also learned more about Gluten Free ProductsDSC01799

 HGD offers a fabulous line of Gluten Free Products they also have a webpage http://www.hgdfoods.comDSC01796

 DSC01786

DSC01778

 DSC01763

 There were also large Portobello MushroomsDSC01892

 DSC01752

Gourmet Nuts by Al (Hi Al!)

DSC01759

Cute Dog!

DSC01743

 DSC01745

 DSC01746

Beautiful Fresh FlowersDSC01744

Until Next Time! Amy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Farmers Market

  1. Debbie York says:

    The photos aren’t coming up for me…drat! I want to see burgandy okra…I need the slime to help them go down!
    Debbie

  2. Mom says:

    Great blog Amy! The Farmer’s Market looks like fun! Great pics!!!

  3. Linda says:

    Burgundy okra! I’m going to have to try that because I find the green tool slimy for my tastes!

    Your farmers market looks fabulous! We have one in a neighboring town that I love. There is a lady there who brings warm, just made bread on Saturdays. YUM!

    BTW- I’m lbp from Sugar Pie Farmhouse!

    Blessings

    Linda

  4. Nezzy says:

    What a treasure of a find. This Ozarks farm chick wishes I had something like this in the hills and hollers of Missouri. ‘ Never heard of burgundy okra, what a beautiful sight.

    I enjoyed my tour through your blog. From the Ponderosa in Missouri, Ya’ll have a wonderfully blessed day!!!

  5. GIO says:

    GREAT BLOG, STOP BY & SAY HI 🙂 GIO

  6. Jennifer says:

    Hi Amy! Loving the look of your new blog, and really loving the farmers market! Sounds like a great place to visit! =) I posted the pickled okra recipe on the forum. Let me know how it turns out.

    Have a fabulous weekend!
    Jennifer

  7. Yum. Looks beautiful. Wish we had something like this here.

  8. Amanda says:

    What??? is this all year round??? i am there then… urgghhh… had no idea!! Thanks for the post!!

Leave a Reply

